Who We Are & What We Believe

When people ask us, "What's your church like," we want to be able to point to five key attributes: Engaging Worship, Deeper Discipleship, All Generations, Caring Hearts, and Community Impact.

Who We Are &
What We Believe

When people ask us, "What's your church like," we want to be able to point to five key attributes: Engaging Worship, Deeper Discipleship, All Generations, Caring Hearts and Community Impact.

Our Beliefs

The Apostles' Creed

We believe in God, the Father almighty, Maker of heaven and earth, and in Jesus Christ, His only Son, our Lord—who was conceived by the Holy Spirit, born of the Virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried; He descended to the dead. On the third day He rose again; He ascended into heaven, and is seated at the right hand of God, the Father almighty. From thence he will come to judge the living and the dead. We believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy catholic Church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and the life everlasting.

Our Pastors

Spencer Smith headshot

Spencer Smith

Lead Pastor

Email Spencer at ssmith@sumc.co
Jason Leininger headshot

Jason leininger

executive pastor

”God has given me an immerse desire to see people walk in the hope of Christ and flourish in the ways God has made for them and that are good for the community. I experience great joy when someone takes a new step in faith, when families in the ways of God, when a community reflects the hospitality and peace of God''s kingdom"

Email Jason at jleininger@sumc.co
Jim Mason headshot

Jim mason

associate Pastor of pastoral care

”I live to see and experience the power of God in people's lives. One of my greatest passions is to equip and empower others in ministry—that is, to care for others in simple and profound ways."

Email Jim at jmason@sumc.co
Jake Hotchkiss headshot

jake hotchkiss

associate Pastor

”My greatest passion in life is helping others experience God more deeply and consistently in their own lives. Life is so much better when we have intimacy with God"

Email Jake at jhotchkiss@sumc.co

Our Ministry Leaders

Say hello to the ministry leaders at Schweitzer United Methodist Church
Mary Decker headshot

mary decker

chief operating officer

"It is my joy to serve on the administrative team, working with all of the ministries to serve the Lord together. I am passionate about stewardship—being a good steward of the things God has given us so we can grow God's kingdom and change lives."

Email Mary at mdecker@sumc.co
KJ Roelke headshot

Sheila Pippin

director of FIrst impressions

"I believe we are always at our best when we are serving others in the name of Jesus Christ. That's why I love to help people connect their God-given talents to the ministries of the church."

Email Sheila at spippin@sumc.co
Krista Rosenbaum headshot

krista rosenbaum

Director of Community Impact

"Outreach ministry is where God has called me. I get great joy in seeing God at work in the lives of so many people from all different walks of life."

Email Krista at krosenbaum@sumc.co
Nina Verbanaz headshot

nina verbanaz

director of kids ministries

”I love sharing God’s love with children. Their caring hearts and infectious enthusiasm for life and learning make teaching them a blessing."

Email Nina at nverbanaz@sumc.co
Nina Verbanaz headshot

tim smith

director of youth ministries

”Seeing teenagers get engaged in their faith and being able to unleash their God-given potential inside and outside the church walls keeps me passionate about youth ministry."

Email Tim at tsmith@sumc.co
David Freeman headshot

david freeman

director of ADULT DISCIPLESHIP

”I cannot get away from the belief that Jesus is the solution for the world’s challenges and the Church is His main tool."

Email David at dfreeman@sumc.co
Cheryll Moll headshot

Cheryll moll

director of traditional Worship

”I love the power of music to bring people into a closer relationship with God and with each other—it communicates ideas and feelings in a way that transcends words."

Email Cheryll at cmoll@sumc.co
KJ Roelke headshot

k.j. roelke

worship & Creative director

"I get really energized by helping people experience God in new ways. I love telling the stories of God, and helping people tell their stories of Him."

Email KJ at kjroelke@sumc.co
Taylor Likes headshot

taylor likes

creative producer

”I believe everyone was made by God with an innate sense of creativity. It's my passion to use media and technology to express that in my life and work, and to help others do the same—all the while having as much fun as possible!"

Email Taylor at tlikes@sumc.co